Defense tops offense in Purdue spring game

The defense knocked off the offense 53-39 in Purdue's annual spring game at Ross-Ade Stadium on Saturday.

Posted: Apr 6, 2019 7:35 PM
Updated: Apr 7, 2019 2:49 AM

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. (Purdue Sports) — The defense knocked off the offense 53-39 in Purdue's annual spring game at Ross-Ade Stadium on Saturday.

With the offense using traditional scoring, the defense was awarded two points for a stop, three points for a three-and-out and on fourth-down stops, five points for a non-scoring turnover and seven points for a scoring turnover.

The offense got off to a quick 10-0 start, scoring a touchdown on a 9-yard plunge by Zander Horvath on the opening drive and a 43-yard field by J.D. Dellinger on the second drive. The defense eventually settled in, scoring 35 consecutive points, including a scoop-and-score fumble return by cornerback Dedrick Mackey and pick-6 by Jonah Williams.

The Boilermakers were without a number of key starters on both sides off the ball for the game due to injury and out of precaution. All-American Rondale Moore was used sparingly in the contest and only in non-tackling situations.

All four of Purdue's early enrollees - safety Jalen Graham, defensive end George Karlaftis, offensive lineman Spencer Holstege and quarterback Paul Piferi - saw their first action at Ross-Ade. Karlaftis tallied a sack and Piferi had scoring throws of seven and 18 yards.

One of the highlights of the spring game is the team awards presented at halftime. The winners are listed below. The program also announced its captains will be known as the "Tyler Trent Team Captains" from now on in honor of the Boilermakers' inspirational fan who battled a rare form of bone cancer. Tyler, who served as Purdue's captain at number of games the last two seasons, including the Music City Bowl, passed away Jan. 1. Trent's parents, Tony and Kelly, and brother, Ethan, joined head coach Jeff Brohm on the field for the announcement.

2018 Team Awards

Tyler Trent Team Captain
Markus Bailey
Kirk Barron
David Blough
D.J. Knox
Lorenzo Neal
Joe Schopper
Elijah Sindelar
Jacob Thieneman

Strength and Conditioning Award - Kai Higgins and Zander Horvath
Newcomer of the Year - Dennis Edwards and Rondale Moore
Scout Team Player of the Year - Kieren Douglas and Payne Durham
Grinder - D.J. Knox and Navon Mosley
Hammer Down - Derrick Barnes and Matt McCann
Playmaker Award - Brycen Hopkins and Terry Wright
Breakout Player - Isaac Zico
Joe Tiller Coaches' Award - Jackson Anthrop and Jacob Thieneman
Consistency Award - Spencer Evans, Cole Herdman, Markell Jones and Ben Makowski
Walkon Award - Brennan Thieneman
Lineman of the Year - Kirk Barron and Lorenzo Neal
Special Teams Player of the Year - Antonio Blackmon and Joe Schopper
Most Outstanding Offensive Player - David Blough and Rondale Moore
Most Outstanding Defensive Player - Markus Bailey
MVP - Rondale Moore

Article Comments

West Lafayette
43° wxIcon
Hi: 49° Lo: 39°
Feels Like: 39°
35° wxIcon
Hi: 47° Lo: 38°
Feels Like: 29°
36° wxIcon
Hi: 46° Lo: 35°
Feels Like: 31°
36° wxIcon
Hi: 48° Lo: 37°
Feels Like: 31°
Broken Clouds
44° wxIcon
Hi: 50° Lo: 38°
Feels Like: 44°
36° wxIcon
Hi: 51° Lo: 38°
Feels Like: 30°
38° wxIcon
Hi: 48° Lo: 37°
Feels Like: 34°
39° wxIcon
Hi: 47° Lo: 38°
Feels Like: 36°
39° wxIcon
Hi: 48° Lo: 34°
Feels Like: 36°
36° wxIcon
Hi: 45° Lo: 34°
Feels Like: 29°
An Up & Down Forecast
WLFI Radar
WLFI Temps
WLFI Planner

Community Events